Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Royki's Little Garden
20 mai 2016

Gold nuggets

IMG_2016_05_20_3250copie

Today was gardening day and I was cleaning up my vegetable garden getting it ready to plant my zucchini and melon plantlings. Well what a surprise! I had pulled up some plants which kinda looked like radish plants but not quite and as usual I throw the weeds on the ground and leave them there. I also pulled up tomato plantlings which had sown themselves along with other random plants. As I continued going about my business enjoying being outside and in a somewhat meditative state, I looked down and spotted something which caught my eye. Humm, what is that? It looks like... ummm... a tiny potato! Oh my gosh!! Where did that come from? Little gold nuggets growing randomly in my garden!

IMG_2016_05_20_3249copie

I immediately stopped what I was doing and prepared a spot for them next to my spinach. I managed to save four plants. I had actually been pulling up "weeds" like this for several days when I went to pick my strawberries. I love how nature can be so unexpected and full of surprises!

IMG_2016_05_20_3259copie

I kept wondering about the marvels of nature and how these potato plants found their way into my garden. I decided to take a few photos and while looking through the viewfinder  I thought, what's this ugly piece of plastic, I think I'll remove it! That is how I discovered that these plants grew from potato peelings that must have been in my compost. This is the first year I have used compost from my composter although I don't remember seeing potato peel. In this case, I think they must be Charlotte Potatoes. I don't know what the results will be, but those are the cutest dang pototoes I've ever seen! Since they grew there all by themselves, I hope they like it and make many potatoes! Having a potager is so fun!!  :D

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Royki's Little Garden
Publicité
Royki's Little Garden
Newsletter
Archives
Derniers commentaires
Publicité